Badminton Wales History

Formed in 1928, Badminton Wales has a long and illustrious history. Open Championships (our treasured Welsh International!) were held that very year, and international matches within the British Isles started just two years later. Always hungry for a challenge, Wales challenged Denmark in 1935. In 1938 Denmark had their revenge on us, with Danish player Tage Madsen winning the Welsh Open singles title. Madsen will always be remember as a friend of Badminton Wales, as he had the foresight to bury the trophy in his garden for the duration of WWII. When the Championships were revived, Madsen returned the trophy to us in perfect condition.

Whilst all of this excitement was going on, Badminton Wales (Welsh Badminton Union, as we were known then) was a founding member of the International Badminton Federation (now the Badminton World Federation) in 1934. We then joined the European Badminton Union in 1968.

Performance, History, Badminton Wales
Start Typing
Privacy Preferences

When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in the form of cookies. Here you can change your Privacy preferences. It is worth noting that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we are able to offer.

Our website uses cookies, mainly from 3rd party services. Define your Privacy Preferences and/or agree to our use of cookies.